Home / QnA / Can I Reload in IDPA with a Round in the Chamber?

Can I Reload in IDPA with a Round in the Chamber?

Mike in Maryland sends in today’s Q&A podcast question asking about doing a reload in IDPA.

This question reminded me of my very first IDPA match ever. During that match I attempted to game it a little too hard. See, if you want to game IDPA, it pays to know the rulebook, and I hadn’t read it. Matter of fact, I’d never seen a rulebook at this point.

Anyways, I tried to do a reload where I dropped an empty magazine, but retained one magazine in the chamber, and I got a procedural, and I got SUPER MAD about it. I even wrote an angry little post on Facebook about it.

Anyways, all this to say, no, you cannot, unless you retain the magazine, and meet the criteria for a tactical reload (reload with retention).

About Lucas

Editor/Head Honcho at Triangle Tactical. Lucas is a life long shooter and outdoorsman, avid concealed carrier and competitive shooter, and a lover of pork fat.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.